Gain a Deeper Understanding of Yourself with Astrology

Gain a Deeper Understanding of Yourself with Astrology

Offering insights to our personalities, relationships and life trajectories, astrology can be a very powerful tool on our personal journey of life. Making sense of zodiac signs, elements and houses however, can be a bit daunting.  In this article you will find a simplified explanation, a little bit of a beginners guide if you will, to astrology.  As you continue your life's journey down the path of self-discovery, reflect on how understanding yourself and others can help you in daily life and in your meaningful relationships. Astrology is an eye opener for sure!  Happy Reading ~ DFW Crystals 

About Astrology

Astrology is a complex and ancient system that examines the movements and positions of celestial bodies and their impact on human life. It offers insights into our personalities, relationships, and life trajectories. By analyzing the celestial bodies' positions at our birth, astrology reveals information about our strengths, weaknesses, and potential future outcomes. It is as much a science on par with meteorology, zoology, and psychology, attracting individuals who are seeking self-discovery, guidance, and a deeper understanding of the universe and themselves.


 The 12 Zodiac Signs

Astrology divides the zodiac into twelve signs, each with its own unique characteristics and elements. The luminaries in the sky influence these signs and help us understand human personalities. For example, Aries is fiery and passionate because it's ruled by Mars, while Taurus is practical and grounded and ruled by Venus.


Gemini is known for being versatile and communicative because it's ruled by Mercury, and Cancer is nurturing and sensitive because it's ruled by the Moon. Each sign has its own special qualities. Leo, ruled by the Sun, is confident and a natural leader, while Virgo, also ruled by Mercury, pays attention to details.


Libra, represented by Venus, seeks balance, and Scorpio, ruled by Mars and Pluto, is intense and transformative. Sagittarius, represented by Jupiter, loves knowledge and adventure, while Capricorn is ruled by Saturn and is ambitious and responsible.


Aquarius is ruled by Saturn and Uranus and represents innovation and independence, and Pisces, ruled by Neptune and Jupiter, is empathetic and intuitive.


Knowing about these signs helps us understand ourselves and how we interact with others. It's a helpful tool for self-discovery and understanding relationships.


The 4 Elements

In astrology, there are four elements that help us understand the different traits and energies of the zodiac signs. These elements are fire, earth, air, and water. Each element represents a unique aspect of human nature and plays a role in the balance of the astrological chart.


Fire signs, exemplified by Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius, embody passion, energy, and ambition. They inspire and display strong leadership qualities, fostering creativity and action-taking abilities.


Earth signs, including Taurus, Virgo, and Capricorn, are practical, reliable, and grounded individuals who prioritize stability and possess a pragmatic outlook. They are associated with perseverance, responsibility, and a practical mindset.


Air signs, represented by Gemini, Libra, and Aquarius, excel in intellectual pursuits, social interaction, and effective communication. They demonstrate analytical thinking, adaptability, and exhibit strong social skills.


Water signs, such as Cancer, Scorpio, and Pisces, possess sensitivity, intuition, and deep emotional depth. They are in tune with their emotions and exhibit a remarkable sense of empathy. These signs are often described as compassionate, nurturing, and understanding of both their own feelings and those of others.


These elements help us better understand the traits and tendencies of each zodiac sign, contributing to deeper meanings of ourselves and others.



The 12 Houses

Astrology uses twelve houses in a birth chart to represent different areas of our lives and help us understand ourselves better. Each house is connected to specific themes and experiences.


  • 1st- also called the Ascendant, shows how we see ourselves and how others perceive us. It forms the base of the birth chart.


  • 2nd- is about money, possessions, and what we value. It reflects our thoughts on material things and resources.


  • 3rd- focuses on communication, siblings, and short trips. It reveals our interests and how we interact with the world.


  • 4th- is about home, family, and emotions. It represents our roots, sense of security, and relationship with our parents.


  • 5th- relates to creativity, self-expression, and romance. It shows our talents, passions, and what brings us happiness.


  • 6th- emphasizes work, health, and daily routines. It highlights our physical well-being and how we serve others.


  • 7th- explores partnerships, marriage, and relationships. It reveals our need for connection and working together.


  • 8th- delves into transformation, shared resources, and deep emotions. It uncovers matters of intimacy, inheritance, and spiritual growth.


  • 9th- covers higher education, travel, and philosophy. It reflects our desire for knowledge, expansion, and spiritual beliefs.


  • 10th- represents career, public image, and achievements. It shows our ambitions, reputation, and how others see us.


  • 11th- relates to friendships, social networks, and future dreams. It reveals our aspirations, hopes, and connection to larger communities.


  • 12th- focuses on the subconscious mind, spirituality, and solitude. It explores hidden fears, patterns, and our connection to something greater.


Understanding the importance of these houses in astrology helps us explore different aspects of our lives, giving us insights that shape our journey of self-discovery and personal growth.


Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.